When I Smell The Rain

Living in China, it is not often that you can smell the rain before it comes, yet the other day I was walking home from the office and I could smell it. I could smell the rain.

It hit me. All at once. It came out of nowhere.

I looked up and noticed the clouds just over the mountains. It was a sign of the coming rain.

Rain, as many of you know, is one of my favorite things. That is an understatement, but that will have to do for now. Every time it rains, I’m reminded of the love of the Father. In the OT most mentions of rain are either a blessing of obedience. When the rain was held back (or in excess, as we saw in Noah’s day) it was a curse of disobedience or keeping the enemy from conquering. – I found this out when I was in The US and decided to look up vs on rain. It was one of the most moving moments for me as I read through the Book, as rain as such a significance in my life.

Rain feeds the plants and gives growth. It is the ultimate reminder that we are not in control. We can’t control the rain. We can’t control the growth of plants (or people around us). We still work for growth, but we can’t make it happen. It is He who gives that growth. Growth is gradual, it doesn’t happen immediately, over night, or even in a day. Growth is a process. Usually a lengthy process. Plants need the nourishment of water. We are no different. We need nourishment. We need that Water.

As I smelled the rain that day, all of those thoughts (and many MANY more) came flooding in to my head. This evening, as I sit in a comfortable chair by the window, I hear the thunder. I see the lightening. I feel the breeze kiss my arms as it dances around me. I can almost smell the rain.

Now, I sit and wait. I’ll wait for the rain. The spring rain.

A promise of growth. A promise of newness.

 

“Let us know; let us press on to know (Him); His going out is sure as the dawn; He will come to us as the showers, as the spring rains that water the earth.”

Hosea 6:3

2 thoughts on “When I Smell The Rain

  1. haha.. totally agree with you. Not only in China but other parts of Asia too. In Malaysia, since it is hot and humid, when the rain is close by, you can feel a sudden cool breeze with the smell of ‘rain’ like coming your way. =)

Leave a Reply

