A New Adventure: China

I am excited to finally be able to post about this particular subject.

A friend and I joke about having 1,000 different lives. All of the things we want to do, what would it look like if we were able to do them. One of my 1,000 lives is becoming a reality this summer. My passion and heart is to live in another country. To live in a new city, state, province, country. Oh the things to be seen and done. There is a whole world out there, literally …

In order for this dream, this calling, to come true for me I have to be willing to give everything up that is “normal” for me. So, I am leaving my hometown. Saying “see you later” to close friends and family. I am walking away from a job I have had for almost 5 years to start a new adventure; a new chapter of my life, if you will.

So, what is this new adventure?

As of June I will be living and working in Xining, China as an English as a Foreign Language Teacher. From what I know, I will be teaching children. For those of you who know me, you know that I am absolutely 100% in love with the idea of teaching children. (My first major in college – of the many that I went through – was Elementary Education). This is right up my ally and I am so ready to begin this new adventure.

How long will I be there?

Well, that is a good question. I will be there for at least 1 year (if not longer). The school I am working for has me on a 1 year teaching contract. The teaching agency I am going through I have told them I would be willing to be there for two years. So as of right now, it is 1 year, but this could very well change.

When do I leave?

Currently the plan is for me to leave mid- to the end of June. We are working on my visa paperwork, once that is finished and I actually have my visa, the date will be more concrete.

How can we stay in contact with one another?

China is pretty strict and does not utilize certain websites. So that means no Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, or even Pinterest (this one is just sad for me, not for you) for this girl. I will update this blog regularly (at least once a month).  This blog will feed to my Facebook, Tumblr, and to Twitter. You can subscribe to my posts by email if you would like.

I will be on Skype, if I’m not email me and we can have a Skype date (yes, I’m one of “those” people; I say phone date and Skype date). For those who already receive my emails, I am going to continue sending those – hopefully more frequently than I have been this past year; sorry guys :$.

I am having contact cards made to give to friends and family that would like to have them. If you would like one, let me know and I can give you one when I see you next or mail one to you.

 

I am extremely thankful for this opportunity to move abroad and begin a teaching career. This has been a dream of mine for quite a while – to move abroad. Thank you – to my friends and family – for your overwhelming love and support in my decision to go.

Oh, here is a fun little tid bit, I am literally going to be a white drop among all of the Chinese. Yep, that is where the name came from, the realization that I will be a major minority in my city. Woohoo!!

 

– Bailey

Leave a Reply

