Travel is fatal…

In starting this as a new blog and getting rid of my other one, I find myself pondering all the things I could possibly write here. I am thinking in blog posts. The world looks different to me and looks as if I could write down everything I see in the most descriptive ways imaginable. I realize that this would be extremely annoying to write about how eating a cupcake at my desk at work feels like a tiny desk party. So I chose to tweet about it instead. There just seem to be so many things worth writing about, maybe it is just the day is rather inspirational.

Lately I have had a favorite travel quote:

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”

– Mark Twain

Living in Arkansas, I have seen prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness to an exponential power. Did I mention that I work with international students? No? … Well, yeah, that is my job. Students have told me stories of the way people look at them and how people speak to them and … I think you get it. We never really realize how narrow-minded we are until we are around people who are completely different from us. Working with students over the past year, I had no idea I had stereotypes about people from certain countries until those stereotypes were debunked.

There is so much out there to be discovered, to be seen, and to be attempted. We learn by doing. The more we, as a society, are around people that are not like us, the more we understand about each other. Get annoyed that there are constantly commercials about starving children in Africa? Go and see for yourself. Maybe you do not trust giving your money to a stranger with sad music and bloated bellied children. – This is extreme, I know, it is just an example. Don’t get angry and start throwing virtual tomatoes at me. – If we stay in one place our entire lives we never change, we become just like everyone around us. But if we go, oh if we go, we learn so much about who we really are.

We tend to find out who we really are by challenging ourselves and trying to reach new heights.

Need a visual aid rather than just reading the quote, here is a good one (click here).

Leave a Reply

